“A Day of Memories” Sneak Peak – a “Rapunzel Memory”…

“Remembering back to the winter of 1957 or 1958 brings a smile to my face while reliving a long time dream being realized.  That was the year of the cold winter night when I looked out from the “tower” over the little City of Tonawanda, as the snow fell and Delaware Street glistened below…”

So begins Joyce’s 50+ year old memory of the Tonawanda Castle.  After seeing the article about our event in the Tonawanda News (http://www.tonawanda-news.com/archivesearch/local_story_317230026.html), Joyce, who now lives in New Jersey, e-mailed us this romantic memory she wanted to share:

Remembering back to the winter of 1957 or 1958 brings a smile to my face while reliving a long time dream being realized.  That was the year of the cold winter night when I looked out from the “tower” over the little City of Tonawanda, as the snow fell and Delaware Street glistened below.

My boyfriend was a member of the National Guard and his unit was “attached” to that Armory at the time.  Because I so often looked up at that tower as I passed by the Armory while riding the bus “uptown” for a nickel, or riding past in the car with my family as I was growing up and thought about “Rapunzel” who “let down her hair” for her Prince Charming from a tower resembling that one in every fairy tale book I had ever seen.  I thought about how someday I just might have a chance to look out over the city from the tower of that magnificent castle.

I begged and pleaded with my boyfriend to please sneak me into that building so I could spend maybe even a second or two looking out from the tower and living my dream.  He was such a fine young man that I never in a million years thought he would do it, but one cold winter night, very late, he whispered, “come on”!  I was sworn to secrecy and have never, ever, revealed “our secret”, until now.

I have long since moved away to another state, but I know he still lives in the area, and we are both “old people” now.  If he has a chance to read this, I’m sure he will forgive me for breaking our pledge, but I just want to say, it was a moment I have never forgotten and have always treasured over all of these years!

Hopefully this is just one sample of the wonderful memories that will be shared with our staff on Sunday, Nov. 22nd at our “A Day of Memories” event.  For more information call 743-8544.

The tower that provided such a special memory

Leave a comment

Filed under "A Day of Memories"

Leave a Reply

