“A Day of Memories” – Great Success

A giant THANK YOU is in order to everyone who came out to support the Tonawanda Castle’s “A Day of Memories.” According to our estimates, between 200-250 people stopped in to tour the facility and share their memories of this historic building.  Our staff is in the process of transcribing the recordings of all the stories, so keep checking back for memories of the armory’s pool, tower, drill room and so much more…with heartwarming stories ranging in date from the 1920s to 2003.

And if you didn’t get a chance to swing by the event today but have memories to share, feel free to contact our office at 716-743-8544 or at TonawandaCastleST@gmail.com.

 

"A Day of Memories"

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under "A Day of Memories"

3 responses to ““A Day of Memories” – Great Success

  1. PETER WOLF

    Sorry I couldn’t attend your openhouse yesterday. My father was Captain from 1943-46. He is seated in the front row of your opening picture-second from the left. I have a pile of pictures, newspaper articles, medals etc. that I would be happy to share with you some rainy/snowy day. If interested give me a call at 692-3313. I live a few blocks away on Morgan St.
    Pete

  2. Alan Thompson jr

    My Father worked at the armory and several other armorys dunkirk “navel”, lockport, and the Niagara Falls armory where he was the Superintendent at the time of his death. I have many memories as was able to go to work with My Dad on many occasions. playing Basketball on the drill floor shooting pool in the day room, swiming in the pool, walking up to the top of the tower to take down the flag and fold it corectly “with no red showing” he worked at this armory untill around 1975. thats when he got promoted and moved to dunkirk I do have a pic of him sitting on the front steps. As I kid I always wanted to have the castle as our home.

Leave a Reply

