Wedding Planning for Students

These days, people are staying in school for longer than ever. I myself am in a graduate program that I don’t anticipate finishing until I am about 28. Many of my friends are in the same boat. So, what are you to do when your honey proposes and you say yes… and then realize that the work involved in planning a wedding is tough to fit around thesis writing and exams? I have not been in this situation myself, but I do have a few friends who are both in school and engaged. Here are the tips they had to offer for those in the same boat:

“Definitely assign everyone in your party a job so you have less to worry about. This was tough for me because I like making all of the decisions, but in the end you have to trust that they are going to make good choices if you want everything to get done.”

“I treated wedding planning like another class in my schedule. I set aside an hour two times per week to do whatever was on my list to get done. I made sure I worked efficiently during that hour and did not dwell on decisions longer than needed. I had this crazy list and each week I tried to check off three items “

When we first got engaged, we wanted to get married 9 months later, but decided to push the wedding back another 6 months just so I had longer to plan. Then I mapped out what I had to do each month in order to have things done by the deadline. He had to help out a lot more than most grooms do because I just could not do it on my own. I think that set a good precedent, actually!”

So there you have it! Three solid pieces of advice for planning while in school. It all seems to boil down to giving yourself enough time and staying on task without unnecessary dawdling. Wedding planning while in school is possible after all… and that’s good news for all of us schoolies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Wedding Related

Leave a Reply

